Poetry scholarships for college students are unknown, unusual, strange and sometimes simple.

Poetry Competitions and Scholarships

poetry competitions and scholarships

Poetry Competitions and Scholarships

There are numerous really good poetry competitions and scholarships available for emerging writers looking for contests. Prizes available in these poetry scholarships competitions often include cash awards as well as the chance for the recipient to have their winning submission published in a literary publication.

The Elixir Press Fiction Award is just one such competition. Elixir Press sponsors a fiction contest to all writers who write in English. Novels and short story collections are both eligible for submission to this contest. The winning prize is $2,000, publication in Elixir Press and 23 complimentary copies of the book. All submissions must be postmarked by May 31st. Elixir Press also sponsors the Antivenom Poetry Awards. Submissions for this contest are accepted between January 1st and March 31st of each year. The award is given for a first or second book of poetry. The winner receives a $1,000 cash prize and publication by Elixir Press. Other awards include the Annual Poetry Awards. One Judge’s Prize of $2,000 is given. There is also an Editor’s Prize of $1,000 awarded. Both winners will have their manuscripts published. Manuscript submissions for this contest are accepted between August 1st and October 31st.

The Field Poetry Prize is sponsored by the editors of Field. This poetry competitions are open to all poets, regardless of whether or not they have been previously published. The winning manuscript will be published by Oberlin College Press in the Field Poetry Series. In addition, the winning author will receive $1,000 and standard royalties for publication. Manuscripts for the contest are accepted through the month of May. Field published both emerging and established American poets, innovative anthologies of poetry and world poetry translations.

Three writing competitions are sponsored by the Bellevue Literary Review. The Bellevue Literary Review offers a forum for the illumination of the human experience and is published by the Department of Medicine at NYU Langone Medical Center. Contests include the Marica and Jan Vilcek Prize for Poetry, the Goldenberg Prize for Fiction, and the Burns Archize Prize for Nonfiction. The deadline to apply for this competition is July 1, 2012. First prize for each genre is $1,000 and publication in the Bellevue Literary Review. Honorable mention winners will also receive a prize of $250 and publication in the Bellevue Literary Review. The goal of the Bellevue Literary Review Prizes is to recognize exceptional writing related to illness, health, healing, the mind and the body. Poetry submissions should be limited to three poems. Previously published work may not be considered.

The Muriel Craft Bailey Memorial Poem Scholarship Contest offers a first place prize, second place prize, third place prize and honorable mentions. Submissions for this contest must be postmarked by July 1, 2012. The cash award for first place is $1,000. The second place winner will receive $250 and the third place winner will receive $100. Honorable mention winners will receive subscriptions to the Comstock Review. The Comstock Review originated from the Comstock Writers’ Group, which was incorporated in 1986. While the group began as a workshop for local poets meeting in a member’s living room, it quickly expanded into a nationally recognized publication and has been published for almost thirty years.

The Guy Owen Poetry Award Competitions are sponsored by the Southern Poetry Review. SPR is one of the oldest poetry journals in the Southeast. The journal is currently housed at Armstrong Atlantic State University in Savannah, Georgia. Submissions are ready by SPR year around. These poetry competitions and scholarships result in a semi-annual literary publication that showcases poems by some of the leading poets in the country. The contest accepts submissions from March 1st through June 15th. The Guy Owen Poetry Award is honors the work of Guy Owen; a poet, novelist, critic, editor, and teacher. Mr. Owen was a former editor of Southern Poetry Review. The winner of this poetry scholarship contest will receive a $1,000 prize.

, , ,

One thought on “Poetry Competitions and Scholarships

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: