Poetry scholarships for college students are unknown, unusual, strange and sometimes simple.

Ruth Lilly Poetry Scholarships are not Simple Scholarships


Are you an ambitious young writer just waiting for your chance for the recognition that will cause the literary world to take notice of your artistic talents? The Ruth Lilly Poetry Scholarships Fellowship may be just the opportunity you’ve been waiting for, but these are not simple scholarships to win unless you are especially good with words. If you are, then go for it!
Endowed in 1989 by the famous Indianapolis philanthropist Ruth Lilly, this poetry scholarship is one of the largest scholarship for poetry awards offered to promising young writers. If you can use an extra $15,000 to help pay for your college tuition, read more about how you can apply to become a rising young literary star.
Each year, the Ruth Lilly scholarships foundation that awards these poetry fellowships holds a nationwide poem competition for undergraduate and graduate students currently enrolled in a college or university. These students must be majoring in English or creative writing.
The department chairs of literary and writing departments at universities throughout the country are invited to nominate their most promising young student for this prestigious poetry award. In previous years, only two students were selected from among hundreds of applicants to receive this important Ruth Lilly poem scholarship.
In 2008, however, five students were chosen from a pool of more than 800 applicants to receive these poetry scholarships. Each student was required to enter ten pages of poetry, together with an essay describing how they would use the Ruth Lilly poetry fellowship to further their career or education in creative writing.
One of these students was Caki Wilkinson, a graduate of Rhodes College in Memphis, Tennessee, who is studying for a doctoral degree at the University of Cincinnati. Other 2008 poem scholarship award winners include Alison Stine, Michael Rutherglen, Roger Reeves, and Nicky Beer. Nearly all of the award winners have graduate degrees, and many are alumnae of prestigious universities located throughout the country.
Although students are chosen from every area of the country, many of them share at least one characteristic: most are previously published poets. Furthermore, a large percentage of the award winners have won other, less prestigious scholarship contest, writing, or poetry awards before being selected for the Ruth Lilly Poetry Fellowship.
Despite winning previous awards, however, they all share one characteristic in common. They must not have yet published a collection of poetry or received acceptance for publication before receiving the Ruth Lilly poetry fellowship. In addition, students must be less than 30 years of age to qualify for these scholarships for poetry.
Guidelines and application materials for 2009 poetry scholarship applicants will be made available by the Poetry Foundation and Poetry magazine on February 1, 2009. According to the magazine’s editors, last year’s poetry competition involved more applications, and was more intense, than that of any previous year.

The winning entries are selected by the editors of Poetry magazine. The poem scholarship application deadline is April 1, 2009, so if you are aspiring to apply for this prominent Ruth Lilly poetry prize, start editing your poetry collection today. Don’t miss out on a not so simple scholarship opportunity to receive this prestigious recognition of your literary talents. Find your place among the greatest authors of tomorrow, and get started today.


Related Articles

, , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Ruth Lilly Poetry Scholarships are not Simple Scholarships

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: